Come Dancing?

It just occurred to me that I could wear a sort of raver outfit for the big dinner and dance on Wednesday…my boss might not think it’s appropriate though…ah its all so hard! The theme is “Come Dancing” and we are encouraged to wear red, silver and gold. Gah.

This very afternoon I leave for the big library conference in Christchurch. I’ll be co-presenting a paper on Tuesday at 1.35 so please send good vibes at that time. Specifically vibes of clear thought, clear speech, and not-fucking-up. Thanks.
I’m back Wednesday evening so no movie screening.

Today I must pack my stuff (already half organised). I also want to duraseal some books before I go which means I should go and buy duraseal.

Yesterday Rachel and I saw the Woodsman. I liked it a lot. The psychology was very good. By that I mean that people’s actions and reactions all seemed very true. It was disturbing in places, but it has a good ending so that’s good. I cried a bit and afterwards I felt shaky and we sat in the sun on the waterfront and talked and I felt better.

If the premise makes you squick don’t see it, but if it interests you on any level I think it’s a very worthwhile movie. Similar to Machinist in the following ways:

Central character is a troubled and unhappy man.
Colour palettes similarly muted, with bright colours used sparingly.
Tense and psychologically thrilling to watch.
See you Thursday! (Or Wednesday night if I’m not too tired from the whole trip.)
comment count: 1955. You guys suck.