Rejected

So, today I heard back from HarperCollins. Unfortunately they did not send a letter saying ‘OMG yes please send us everything you have ever written for we will pay you millions.’
I got my first rejection letter.

It’s a nice one that says ‘While an interesting idea…this is not suitable for our list.’ It also never says rejected anywhere on it, just that they won’t be able to offer to publish it. So that’s nice.
I don’t feel very sad about it, obviously it would have been nice for them to publish me, but I figure I’ll get a few rejections before I get an acceptance. The temptation now is of course to rewrite frantically, but I’m not going to give in to that just yet. I’m going to submit Kiki to a few more publishers and try my luck.

I wonder what I should do with my rejection letter? I kind of want to frame it. I think I’ll just put it away somewhere. I feel pleased that they read it anyway, or at least, read the summary. They got back to me nice and fast too, (within a month) so that’s all good.

So, I feel a little bit more like a ‘proper’ author now that I’ve been officially rejected. I like to think about how J.K. Rowling got twelve different rejection letters before someone took up Harry Potter, it makes me feel warm inside.

PoF: OMG it’s freezing.
CO: OMG it’s freezing.

4 thoughts on “Rejected

  1. Congrats 🙂
    Personally, I’d reckon you became a ‘proper’ author a while ago – when you sat down and seriously started writing with the intention of living up to your childhood dream.
    This is a good (and reasonably necessary) step along the path.
    Well done! I have high hopes for you.

  2. I sort of want to say congratulations, but that might be strange? You’re such an author! I guess this is like the first step of the rest of the process.
    I am glad you are not too bummed – yes keep a hold of that letter, for future reminiscing. (oh Harper Collins! How silly do you feel now!)
    *hugs*

  3. Good work on real life Jenni. Such a good attitude. You taking it completely seriously and sensibly as well as “living the dream”.
    *huggles*

  4. I’m pretty sure the moment you sat down to write a book and actually kept at it till you completed it, you were a “real” author (whatever that’s meant to mean anyway). I have a running vs jogging analogy that I could use here but I figure noone really wants to hear me rabbit on about that;p
    Plus HarperCollins is a big publisher right? And it’s much more likely that a small place will take a chance on you and a big publisher will rue the day they said no;p

Leave a Reply

