Things I like to dream about

I have a few regular daydreams. Here’s some of the ‘ideal life’ themed ones I’ve been indulging in lately.
I am a famous writer, Neil Gaiman level of fame, I spend my days writing and answering fan mail. I am invited to speak at schools, take workshops with budding writers and travel to conferences about books.

When I do book tours or conferences I am put up in nice hotels, some times Lee comes with me when I’m invited overseas, places like the States, Europe, etc. Sometimes I go alone and have an adventure. In the hotels I order room service, have long baths and sneak out at night to explore the city I’m in. I like to spend a little longer than I have to at the destination city so that I can look around a bit.

I am somehow rich enough to have an assistant to help me with stuff like housework, sewing and craft. This means I can do more, faster. If I am making a quilt, my assistant may be cutting out more block pieces while I sew, my assistant would definitely do the ‘safety pinning the quilt layers together’ stage for me.

I could say to my assistant, ‘would you mind popping out and getting some cupcakes, oh and a hot chocolate?’ and she would say ‘sure thing’ and then I could remain comfortably seated on the couch and the cupcakes would be brought to me.

My assistant could also handle stuff I really can’t be bothered doing like: making the bed, taking out the rubbish, driving our old clothes to the clothing donation bins, grocery shopping and scrubbing the bath.
As a professional movie maker I alternate between directing and acting. The days are long and hard, but having my own trailer on set makes a huge difference. The hotel rooms they put me up in are nice too.

I only make movies that I feel are original and have something new to say. I enjoy directing because I can wear shabby clothes and be comfortable, people listen to me and I can see how everything is coming together as a whole.

I love acting because I like to immerse myself into a character and work hard to portray something real on the screen. It’s also fun to do stunts and play with line deliveries. I also enjoy making bloopers…
So how about you? Do you have any daydreams about your ideal life that you would like to share? I’d love to hear them 🙂

PoF: Dark Knight
CO: Dreams are free

8 thoughts on “Things I like to dream about

  1. You may have the same ideal life dreams as me…certainly the writing, the acting (though I’m less about the directing), the hotel rooms…
    Also I am a famous singer. I do guest spots with other bands, have sung various lead operatic roles and also the occasional broadway spot. yep that’s how versatile my voice is!! Oh and the hotels? fabulous!
    For all of these daydreams I end up talking to Oprah at some point. Me and her are *like this*
    Ahhh daydreams. Some of you will be real one day I am sure 🙂

  2. I have this daydream of spending time in a wee red cottage by a bay on the East Coast. It has one, maybe two bedrooms, minimalist colour, and the bedroom has either fairy lights (white) or a sculptural light fitting – maybe some kind of art-glass in varying hues. It’s ridiculously close to the sea, and the bedroom is positioned so that morning sun pours in through the window. Been thinking about it for years now :).

  3. Curerntly my daydreams revolve around horrible people getting slapped on the ass by karma.
    Other than that, I like to think of the things I could do instead of being at work on a sunny day – going on a leisurely day tramp or a gentle bike ride. And then I push someone off a cliff…wait, that wasn’t supposed to get in there.

  4. Sok: I totally forgot, when I am invited to do panels at book/writer conferences I’m on panels with my friends. You, Sally, Matt, Seraph everyone I know who writes is there with me and we have this fantastic time laughing and talking in front of the audience and they love us so much and then we can go out for dinner and the conference organisers and publishers pay for us!
    Dear God I love hotel rooms so much.
    Rachel: I think you’ve told me about that cottage before, it’s so lovely. I hope you get there some day! I want to see it too, it sounds so peaceful.
    Sass: I hear you about the karmic revenge daydreams. I hear you good.

  5. “I totally forgot, when I am invited to do panels at book/writer conferences I’m on panels with my friends. You, Sally, Matt, Seraph everyone I know who writes is there with me and we have this fantastic time laughing and talking in front of the audience and they love us so much and then we can go out for dinner and the conference organisers and publishers pay for us!”
    I am happy to speak on any dream-panel where I get to laugh and talk and get free food afterwards 🙂

  6. I like to daydream about getting paid ridiculous amounts of money to do whatever I feel like doing at the time (including sleeping in) and yet also never having to deal with any customers or clients. Ahhh.
    I also like daydreaming about having teleport/time machines so that I can be on my OE and yet pop back to NZ whenever I want and even when I am double booked having the time/ability to attend everything *and* get enough sleep. Ahhh.

  7. Oooh those panels sounds like fun, count me in!!
    Also I would like people to bake me apple crumble for my singing (in addition to the huge paychecks).
    The apple crumble does not go straight to my hips, as my metabolism is super fantastic.

Leave a Reply

