Film Festival Day 2 – The Big Day

Thankfully I had such a good sleep in that the thought of seeing four movies didn’t make me want to cry. I instead felt good yesterday, so that’s good.

Lee and I started the day at Sweet Mother’s Kitchen, where the wait staff have started to recognise us. *blush* I had a perky nana milkshake (best ever) and waffles with bacon, banana and maple syrup. (Om nom nom.) Lee had mushrooms on toast and a latte and the amazing chef made it all within 15 minutes so even though we only had half an hour between getting there and the first movie it was fine. I *heart* SMK to pieces.

Our first movie was a delight CJ7 was a family movie by the guy who did <b.Kung Fu Hustle about a very poor boy (just 6 or 7 years old) and his Dad, the boy goes to a private school where the kids all make fun of him and he is frustrated because he can’t have the cool new robot dog everyone else has. The father finds a weird ball thing in the dump (he doesn’t realise it comes from a UFO) and brings it home for the boy to play with. It turns out it’s an alien version of a robot dog and just about the cutest CGI I’ve seen in ages. The beautiful thing is that we were given plushies of it at the entrance to the theatre, so I was watching the movie while petting my own CJ7.

It was a surprising movie, there was quite a lot of kind of shocking cruelty and some very upsetting stuff, but it was all resolved very nicely. If it hadn’t been for said cruelty I would say it was the best kid’s movie ever, but as it stands I’ll just say that I did enjoy it, but if I watch it again I might fast forward through some bits. But then I’m a wuss so you might not have the same issue. It was a great film and I love my plushie. Lee enjoyed it, but thought the CGI for the CJ7 character wasn’t good enough.

We had about an hour after that to get from the Paramount to the Penthouse (it was a tour-the-cinemas day for us.) So Lee brought his book and I brought a notebook and we got a good park in Brooklyn.

O’Horten was a gentle movie about a man called Odd Horten (best name ever) who has been a train driver for nearly 40 years and is retiring at 67. There wasn’t really a plot at all, it was just us watching what he does with his time and the way he reacts to various silly scrapes that he gets into or witnesses.

My favourite bits were: Odd is having a beer at a quiet little restaurant. Two plain clothes cops come in, talking loudly and barge into the kitcen. There are sounds of a struggle and ‘you’re coming with us’, they emerge again with the chef in handcuffs and leave with him. The elderly waiter follows with the chef’s bag, he comes back into the restaurant, looks around gravely and says ‘it should go without saying but I will not be taking any more orders for food.’

My other favourite bit was an incredibly surreal sequence on a sloping iced over road. Man walks out carrying a huge salmon on a rope, another man slides past on his bottom, heading down the hill holding a briefcase and looking very serious and severe.

Lee found it boring, but I enjoyed the measured pace and slow build to Odd figuring out what he really wanted to do with his new found time.

We had a couple of hours before our next one and did the food shopping. I managed to put together another surgerised tee. Lee made tea.

I’ve never been to the film archive before. Their popsicles are overpriced and their seats are hard. Other than that it was a good experience.

To Each his Own Cinema was a collection of three minute films commissioned by the Canne festival of their favourite directors. (All men except for Jane Campion). The films had to be about cinema. Many of them were almost without words, many were unexplained, and those ones I found kind of hard to appreciate. My favourites were definitely the ones that were easy to understand, accessible. The one with Lars Von Trier killing a man who won’t stop talking during the movie was great, Fellini’s ‘Cinema Erotique’ had an awesome punchline, the one with the guy trying to steal a handbag, only to be caught when the woman who’s handbag it is looks for a tissue, she then uses his hand to caress her own face and comfort herself. I also really liked the one about Movie Night in a small Chinese town and the two guys singing in Brazil. Jane Campion’s one was weird. Overall, I wouldn’t watch it again

Finally we made our way through the bucketing rain to the Embassy to see In Bruges. This is a film about two hitmen, one young one old and jaded who have been sent to Bruges (“it’s in Belgium”) to hide out following a botched hit. Colin Farrell is fantastic as Ray, the younger one, incredibly bored by Bruges and anxious to get back to London but also very damaged and vulnerable. Brendan Gleeson is the older one, and a thoroughly likeable guy. They move around the city sightseeing and having deep conversations. To say any more would be spoilerific and this is a fantastic movie so I don’t want to give anything away.

Suffice to say: awesomely acted, just a virtuoso performance from Farrell, beautiful photography, funny jokes, clever plot. Ralph Fiennes as their boss Harry, who swears a lot. Go and see it when it comes back, ok? Oh and Fleur Delacourt is in it too.

PoF: warm robe
CO: Lee is oversleeping but he was up in the night on a work call. I will leave him be.

Leave a Reply

