Mama Mia!

On Sunday I went to see Mama Mia! with girlfriends, because there is literally no other way to see such a film.

If you don’t like musicals, the music of Abba or stories about mother/daughter relationships then you will not enjoy this movie.

If those things do not make you run screaming then I definitely recommend it. It’s a very very silly movie, but it’s a good one, and the songs are fun and the whole thing is just stunning, filmed on the Greek Islands and everyone in it looks like they had an absolute blast doing the filming.

Lily Kane from Veronica Mars is a great singer, and even Colin Firth sounds rather good. Merryl Streep was insanely impressive, she sings, she dances, she does stunts! She’s charismatic and enchanting! I should really just track down everything she’s been in and watch it in chronological order, that way I can bask in her glory.

PoF: hoodie
CO: procrastinating

8 thoughts on “Mama Mia!

  1. ooh definitely want to see that!! Could be something that I wait for DVD for so I can sing along loudly with though 😉

  2. I also want to see it, but the girlfriends I do have here either saw it when I was busy, or don’t want to see it.
    sok, I will totally rent out that DVD with you 😉

  3. I went to see it in the holidays – it was so funny I laughed till I cried. It is a very very silly movie, but enormously fun. There were a lot more females in the theatre – its a quintessential chick flick.
    One of my students has seen it eight times.

  4. And to qualify that (and make it sound less like plaintive weirdness), I mean because it would have been nice to go see that movie with a group of gals including my lovely friend Jenni:)

  5. Sok: I sang along under my breath! And nearly got caught out when they unexpectedly paused in the middle of a song XD
    Giffy: It is hilarious, you’ll love it.
    Toni: I was thinking that it’s such a chick flick that it’s almost the anti-guy flick. It’s definitely the anti-Lee movie anyway.
    Sass: I am pleased that you qualified that, because I was quite WTF?

  6. All my man-friends got together for a man-date and saw this film. It was awesome – we all loved it. Especially the bits where Sylvester Stallone shoots all the foreigners!
    Wait, you were talking about Rambo, weren’t you? I skim read some parts of the post 🙂

  7. Luke and I saw the stage show when we were in sydney a few years back. Not going to be able to see it at the movies, but looking forward to when it comes out on DVD. Loved the stage show expecting to enjoy the movie.

Leave a Reply

