I’ve been reading

The Langoliers by Stephen King.
Novella, as I mentioned previously. It was too tense for me to read before sleeping because I’d get all riled up and freaked out. I finished it while feverish and unable to do anything else and it really was very good. Scary as, very tense, but with a great payoff. Now I’m a bit scared to read more Stephen King, so I’m reading a Lovecraft short story instead. It made sense at the time.

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow
(Which you can download for free from here)
This book is awesome, set in a couple more years in San Francisco, it’s a story about terrorism and hacking and HomeLand Security and romance and being a teenager. I loved it to bits and have passed it on to Lee to read. I don’t want to say much about it because it’s best as a surprise, so I’ll just recommend you download it and have a look yourself.

Necklace of Kisses by Francesca Lia Block.
Ok, I seem to read this book all the time. It’s comfort food. It’s all about clothes and hotels and kisses and being out on your own and magical things happening……oh and food. Francesca is always careful to describe the food. Perfection.

Welcome to Tranquility by Gail Simone.
A graphic novel about a small town where superheroes go to retire. It was pretty neat, mixing in classic style comics from when the heroes were famous and an overarching murder plot tying together all the character introductions. It was gentle and fine. It was very much like the TV show Eureka if the town was supers instead of geniuses, and like the show it was fine but it wasn’t spectacular.

PoF: window
CO: even deep breaths.

Leave a Reply

