another rejection

Yep, that’s just what you want first thing on a Monday morning when you’re worn out from filming and have been awake since 5am with sinus headaches: a rejection letter for the short story you submitted to an American magazine.

I guess I kind of knew this would be the case since it’s been so long I figured they probably didn’t want it. Now to investigate other places that publish short stories of the horror persuasion…sigh.
Mustn’t let myself get discouraged though, tempting as that may be.

8 thoughts on “another rejection

  1. πŸ™‚ Do not be discouraged. Did you get any more feedback than “sorry we have decided not to publish”? (Don’t need to post it, just curious what amount of info you got)

  2. Grist for the angry mill!
    On to the next place it is (when that next place is found). It’s awesome that there’s a positive action you can take πŸ™‚

  3. Morgue: No, it was just “not what I’m looking for right now” so not a whole lot to go on.
    Matt: Yeah…..I’m just a bit sad about it today. Tomorrow is a whole different day.

  4. BAH to them I say! 😦 It is totally OK to take some time to feel sad about it too.
    But yeah, like Matt says, its nice that there actually *is* positive action you can take.
    *hugs*
    Short stories. I want to write some. I have whole pages of short story ideas in my diary. Some make no sense but I want to see where they go. Maybe next craft day I will come to your place and be short story-ish.

  5. Also you should totally start your own zine. It could have short stories and stuff in it. I can proofread it! And I would read it πŸ™‚ Also probably try desperately every month to get my own work in it πŸ˜‰

  6. I don’t know if it’s any consolation but I recall hearing at a writers’ talk a few years ago that fiction magazines were harder to get published in than getting a novel published because the high money to word pay rate meant that they received many more stories than publishers receive completed novel manuscripts. They have tend to have very specific things they are looking for so even if they think your story is great there are many reasons why they may not accept it. Keeping on finding places to send it off to and it’s a matter of it landing on the right desk at the right time, or go with the staring your own zine idea.
    Don’t let it discourage you in the least. Even best-selling authors tell tales of receiving rejection letter after rejection letter when they started out trying to get published. These experiences will only make future success all the sweeter when it comes.

Leave a Reply

