teeny Wed Write Post

Ok, I’ll put in a little about writing as well, just to keep up with tradition. I am currently reading and copy editing Debbie’s teen novel and I have to say I’m really enjoying it.

I do like this process too, reading through something and making notes on it and thinking of how a sentence could be better constructed. It’s good fun and all the practice I’ve had lately has not only made me faster, it’s made me smarter about it too. It helps that Debbie has some of the same bad habits I do, such as adding unnecessary qualifiers like ‘pretty good’ instead of good or ‘kind of happy’ instead of just ‘happy’. Her book’s awesome fun though, interesting characters, funny dialogue and I do desperately want to know what happens next.

So my solid hour of writing today was dedicated to that. I have also vacuumed, napped, surfed the net, done the washing and iced some cupcakes. (Post on them to follow. Not today though.) I am full of excitement for the second episode of Fall tonight.

Also I saw a tshirt at Supre that said “I kissed a vampire and I liked it” and I managed to resist buying it. Might not be able to resist long though, it was pretty cute.

Now off to pound out the first draft of a short story idea I’ve had rattling around in my head for a couple of months before Lee gets home and demands attention.

Point of Fashion: rather grey
Current Obsession: mini chocolate almond magnums are awesome for an energy lift!

One thought on “teeny Wed Write Post

  1. Thanks for the kind words about the book. It’s surprisingly nerve-wracking to send your writing off to someone else even though your friends are hardly likely to send you a rejection letter refusing to edit or read your manuscript. It’s still always an immense relief when people don’t say they hate it, especially for me because I’ve never really written teen or ‘girly’ stuff before. šŸ™‚

    Yeah, intensifiers are a weird thing (heh, I nearly ‘slightly weird’) that can creep into writing without you realising. I may owe you a biro by the time you reach the end of the book if you’re crossing them out…

Leave a Reply

