Writing Wednesday

I have had a very productive week since last writing linky. In Rain my editing is up to Chapter 17 which is page 77 in the A4 sized printouts. It’s going fast, which is concerning because I fear that I’m not spending as much time examining every possible word as I could be. On the other hand, I do have to get this finished eventually so eh. I’ve been limiting my editing to chapter lots, with breaks in between and time to distance myself a little. Looking forward to the next round of feedback when Sok and Debs have time.

I have reworked a short story to near-perfection. I’m giving it one more proof read before I send it to a magazine though, because short stories have to be perfection if you want them published in fancy-pants American places the way I do. I will send it out in the next day or so.

I’ve also done work on Silver Kiss of the Magical Twilight etc. For research, I went through my good old Werewolf: The Apocalypse rule book to see how they explain what roleplaying is. Then I went through Best Friends and the Buffy the Vampire Slayer core book as well. It was kind of fun. I want to run Werewolf again.

Linky:

A rather useful article by agent Rachelle Gardner about why she’s said no after requesting samples. Common mistakes to avoid, basically.

Debbie’s short story is up on sentient online A Final Glimpse of Light and Dark. I haven’t read it yet, but my guess is that it’s awesome.

Matt also has a short story up online, Waste Not is up on antipodean sci fi. It’s a neat little meta-tale of time travel that kind of broke my brain.

Finally, I found Jody Hedlund’s blog today, which I haven’t had a chance to read extensively but what I have read is good. She’s gently encouraging and realistic with a nice easy to read blogging style. I particularly like this one about when you’re overwhelmed.

7 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday

  1. “When are you free for secret larp project meetup?”

    It’s not secret if you tell the internet Paul…

    Oh and I’ve never player Werewolf. I feel it may be a valuable part of my gaming education.

  2. I too would play in Werewolf! That would be fun. Relive the teenage years and the thinly veiled pubertal metaphor about changing bodies and changing roles in society…

    Oh, and smashing stuff for Mother Earth!

  3. 🙂

    I am surprised by the outpouring of love for Werewolf: The Apocalypse. I might have to look into starting a campaign later in the year…

Leave a Reply

