Things I Love Thursday

I don’t have a TV so I didn’t see any of the actual games, but I really really like these photos of the winter Olympics.

The World Cinema Showcase looks particularly good this year. I’m excited to see Coco Chanel + Igor Stravinsky, The Box and A Single Man, Picture Me, Automorphisis, Road Movie and The Missing Person.

I made pizza again this week. I can’t recommend this recipe enough. I tried it this week with rosemary in the base and it was divine.

This short story about what if Bertie Wooster was Batman.

If the book we are reading doesn’t wake us up with a blow on the head, what are we reading it for? … we need the books that affect us like a disaster, that grieve us deeply, like the death of someone we loved more than ourselves, like being banished into forests far from everyone, like a suicide. A book must be the a…xe for the frozen sea inside us. — Franz Kafka

EFT for vibrant health. I rediscovered EFT this week. I really love it, and this one for boosting your immune system was invigorating and it made me feel awesome.

Honourable Mentions: Noodle canteen, bacon, hot sun, catching up with family, picnics in the park, the man who did ballet with a digger, jellybeans, Buffy, roleplaying, Sweet Mother’s Kitchen. (Does anyone feel like I repeat myself too much here?) Leonard Cohen, the soundtrack from Glee, planning for handmade gifts, Ghosts for sale on Trade Me, winning movie tickets, chocolate fish, being warm and finishing rewatching season one of Arrested Development.

Please share your own list of thankfulness below.

6 thoughts on “Things I Love Thursday

  1. I love…
    -being really very happy for several days, which is kind of a record for recent me!
    -the way J starting school has gone brilliantly and both boys are adjusting quickly and are mostly happy with the change… it makes me feel like I am doing a good job as a parent
    -J “reading” to me and his excitement when I told him he could sign up for soccer
    -Finishing my triathlon and running the whole of the run which was my goal. My friend C and I are now training to run 13 k from Bunnythorpe to Palmy in May
    -My awesome friends in Palmy as well as Welly
    -Getting my 1st ever A+ for my 1st year stats paper and enjoying the 2nd year one
    -And weirdly, work… I’m finding aspects of it challenging or interesting… setting up a local compliance website, trying to make info accessible in a way that is intuitive to different people… designing a roleplaying session for training lab managers to deal with chemical spills and doing lots of new staff inductions… summarising the Hazardous substances code of practice so people know what their responsibilities are… ACTUALLY GETTING TO THINK AGAIN!!! 🙂

  2. – 6 hours of sleep in a row.
    – gummy grins
    – family dinners
    – generosity of others
    – aquajogging/gossiping
    – time to garden
    – harvesting produce
    – loving and being loved

  3. – Cone of Cold
    – Fireball
    – Zevran and Morrigan’s banter
    – Warden Commander’s armour
    – Selling Potent Lyrium Potions at a profit

    Yes, all the things I love are from Dragon Age: Origins.

  4. My monster changed! When did my monster change? I miss my old monster! This one looks like a squished up donut with three eyes…

  5. Yay for you Karen and Giffy!

    Jon: Did you use a different email address to comment with than the one you used to use? I think the monster is tied to the info you input.

Leave a Reply

