Things I Love Thursday

Sorry about the lack of blogginess this week, I keep going out and doing things in the evenings and I also have been feeling vaguely ill on and off which makes me want to sit still and watch TV.

Fall’s season one finale was pretty intense, none of us players thought we’d actually survive, but survive we did and my bad boy Calvin was the one who put the whammy on the Big Bad. Without actually facing up to her at all. Brilliant.

I’ve nearly finished my rewatch of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I really think Season 7 is my favourite season. There’s so much fun stuff in there like the Chinese slayer, the Anya episode, the Andrew episode where he narrates…plus cool new characters, Spike’s arc of redemption, Xander being awesome, Felicia Day in her awkward stage.

Yesterday I got tough with myself and as soon as I got home from work I changed into PJs and fluffy socks, turned off the internet and edited 20 pages of Rain like bam! It was awesome.

Pictures of hot guys reading books. Your definition of hot may vary but I still love the idea of the list.

Cleolinda’s epiphany about what characters want and how you play with that, simplified right down to the cup of water metaphor.

I really love this song. So much pretty singing and the longing and the sadness.

Also I am super hyped for Scott Pilgrim vs the World and I have been ever since I first read the first comic. And I have to say the trailer fills me with squeeing fangirl happiness…

Honourable Mentions: New eps of Glee, final ep of Season 5 Supernatural (tomorrow!), getting to fire a gun tomorrow, Dairy Milk bubbles chocolate with white centre, people signing up for the superhero LARP, surprise Fraser, brunch with lovely people, writing mojo, compliments on my new glasses, thinking about possible futures, the comedy festival, vivid dreams and my darling husband.

6 thoughts on “Things I Love Thursday

  1. Hi Talula, long time reader first time commenter.

    That link to the ‘cup of water’/character motivation analogy is awesome and quite inspiring. I totally intend to use it if I ever get better motivated to write. I guess I could try PJs and fluffy socks – except that I don’t have either of those things.

    I hadn’t realised that Felicia Day was in the final season of Buffy. It’s funny when you look back at old TV/movies and realise that was the first time you saw an actor or the work of an artist you like.

    I request a photo of mentioned new glasses that we may all pass judgement on them.

    I’m guessing your possible future thoughts were more personal than general but I’m looking forward to the future where genetically modified talking whales are giving the Japanese crap for eating them.

  2. I love:
    -Lovely links thanks Jenni!
    -GMing Alaska… for the first time since I started gaming again I am running something that flows… I am a bit too excited by the story which means I am spoiler-ing a bit much (since I have only the Wednesday gamers to chat about gaming to)
    -Fluffy lunch in Welly tomorrow!
    -My so-cute boys
    -my strange new (hopefully not temporary) okayness with myself

  3. A very late TILT-

    1) Discovering a blog post about yarn stores in the North Island, including ones I could potentially visit on my way up to Chimera!

    2) Leethal.net’s Leethal Quick Knits superhero mask and Winter Leaves patterns, for productive knitted graffiti goodness (Giffy, if you’re reading this, photos are up on Facebook)

    3) Friends who don’t just reply to an LJ post where you’re sad, but actually text you to see how you are.

    4) ‘Love Actually’ and ‘Four Weddings and a Funeral’ for bringing home to my living room for a couple of hours.

    Honourable mentions to Knitty.com, ‘The Man Your Man Could Smell Like’ (for making me laugh), and the prospect of a whole lot of back issues of knitting magazines.

Leave a Reply

