Writing

For the foreseeable future, it’s my last Wednesday afternoon off to spend writing. Nothing’s certain in this world though, and someday I may be back, on the couch typing away while everyone else is at work earning money. At any rate I have had a very productive week.

On holiday I wrote two and a half new short stories. The first one is a very dark little thing called “Mabel cleans the hotel bathroom” and if anyone is interested in taking a look at it and offering me some critique in return please let me know. Warning: includes feminist themes, content may offend.

The second is an experiment in withholding information and exploring the little ways couples needle each other. I wrote it in Borders, Queen St using one of the prompts I got at Te Papa the other week. I rather like it, but I’m not sure if it finishes too abruptly or not. I shall have to take a look at the structure when I type it up.

The third is just a fragment so far but it’s a post apocalyptic Victorian-ish thing answering the question ‘what if the common cold didn’t kill the Martians in War of the Worlds?’ I think it shows promise, if I can wrangle an actual plot out of the idea.

I also did some very good editing on WtWTCH? being as I am, much inspired by the feedback Steve has given me. I have been amping up the worrying that my protag does about stuff and I think it’s making things pop a bit more. I’m quite excited about how this edit is looking so far and it’s increased my confidence in the manuscript no end.

Linky:

Very good point about being an extrovert and a writer from Doyce Testerman. I think I have this issue too, look at all the work I’ve had done since the feedback session with Steve.

In praise of reading aloud as an editing tool. I do this for short stories mostly, or chapters of novels that are giving me trouble.

Great interview Steve sent me the link to a couple weeks back with Cat Rambo, about editing, writing, steampunk and speculative fiction.

“You write what only you could write”
~ from You know you’re a writer when…

and just to contrast that….

I write like
Chuck Palahniuk

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

That was for a chunk of text from WtWTCH? I tried again with text from a short story ‘One man hide and seek’ and got this one:

I write like
Margaret Atwood

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

6 thoughts on “Writing

  1. Hah, I got Pahlaniuk on that meme as well, but just from a lengthy comment I left on a discussion post rather than anything formal.

    Is your Atwood-result from a first person pov? Because she is almost always 1st person.

    Would be quite interested in seeing Mabel.

  2. I won’t EVER be offended by feminist content 🙂 and would like to read Mabel after the weekend if you think it would be useful… I promise not to mess with your sentence structure unless you want it cut to a word limit!

  3. I’d like to read ‘Mabel’- would you cast a weather eye over one of mine in return? It’s Leonard Cohen-inspired, if that helps tempt you…

    • there is one, it was just late. That’s what you get for me going out for drinks after work and then straight out for Fall 🙂

Leave a Reply

