Sock Skeleton

Last week, when I was home sick and unable to concentrate on writing or editing I spent some time randomly wandering around the internet. I can’t quite recall how but I ended up on Martha Stewart’s website looking at Hallowe’en crafts.

This little guy was looking at me. He was so endearingly odd looking he caught my eye.

Then I saw that he was made of socks and well, if I know anything at all I know how to make things out of socks. So I kept that tab open and read the instructions and opened up the template for sewing and cutting in another tab and finally I sewed up some white socks on Sunday and made up a skellington.

It was a bit fiddly, but I’m not sure it took longer than a sock monkey. There’s lots of little bits you have to do on both so I think it ended up the same. The trickiest part I thought would be doing the arms, since they’re such narrow tubes of sock. The good thing is that socks are stretchy so this part wasn’t too bad. I had more trouble with the face, making the mouth look right. Judging from the reactions to my sock dude I didn’t get the same winsome expression above. I still think he’s adorable though.

oh hai, I'm Raymond

Actually the silliest thing about my skeleton is that his butt came out really big. Something about the heel of these socks means that when stuffed, they’re ginormous. That’s alright though, who says a sock skeleton can’t have a sizable butt?

Baby Got Back

Sideways he looks a bit like a firefly. Hence I call him Raymond, after the firefly in The Princess and the Frog.

Raymond and Dog

Skeletons look awesome with dogs don’t they? I think it’s because of The Nightmare Before Christmas.

If you want to make one too, you can find the pattern here.

Next up: a beigey-brown sock skeleton so it looks aged. Might also look more creepy, I’ll let you know.

9 thoughts on “Sock Skeleton

  1. Actually, pelvises really are one of the biggest bit of a skellington bigger even than skulls I think? And other bits are quite skinny (or rather bony) So big butt Raymond may even be anatomically correct

  2. So cute! I love the larger black circle around the one eye. His mouth and eyes have the most adorable expression, although the ample buttocks are also very impressive and oddly endearing.

  3. Nice work! I love the martha stewart crafts! There are some cute animal crafts on there too, like making a two story cardboard house for your cats.. But I’m too lazy to do it.

Leave a Reply

