Things I Love Thursday

Life itself. Attending a funeral tomorrow, for Lee’s grandfather. I feel rather emo about it, although we weren’t close by any definition. It’s that whole reminder that you are mortal thing. On the other hand it reminds us also to cherish the time we have and the people we love. Seize the day, follow your dreams and live the best possible life you can. This weekly list of love is one way I’m working towards that.

My blog gets a lot of traffic this time of year, almost entirely due to the entry about us cosplaying as Jem and the Holograms. Last year the traffic dropped off quite steeply so I’m not convinced that the people who visit to check out our photos stick around to read anything else, but if you did Hi! Welcome! Make yourself at home!

This all leads into my love of costuming. I’ve been getting lots of costume opportunities this year what with all the LARP based fun times. This last Saturday at Fright Night I wore a Gala Darling inspired outfit to be a thrill seeking rich girl, and then I had to dress as a somewhat delinquent-ish early teen. I went with a kind of ragged Avril Lavinge look with my hand painted “Trouble maker” singlet over the top for emphasis. My Hell Boy hand arrived this week along with a couple of other costuming -y goodies which will come in handy when/if I chose to dress as Batgirl again (or Robin come to that), and a big plastic carving knife so I don’t ever have to take a real knife to a party again. (My friends breathe a sigh of relief.)

Quite loving Lego Rock Band, not particularly because of the game interface or the Lego aspect but because of the songs on the track list. Par example:

Dreaming of You by The Coral. Cute as video and an extremely catchy song.

High quality emo that sounds really upbeat but still includes the lyrics “Bury me”…

…and songs I already knew I loved like Ruby by the Kaiser Chiefs, Free Falling by Tom Petty and You Give Love a Bad Name by Bon Jovi.

In other Lego related things I love, I’m into the blind bag Lego Minifigures now. There’s a wee surfer dude who looks just like Mason from Fall, plus a vampire and a witch and and and! So cute. Plus excellent gifts for all the geeky boys in my life.

Honourable Mentions: Scopa getting us a table at Duke Carvell’s when they didn’t have room for us, delicious food at Duke Carvell’s, playing fooseball, how is babby formed?, lovely thoughtful birthday gifts such as the 4th volume of Absolute Sandman (Lee), a gift voucher for Peter Alexander (Dowsett family), nice smelling bath and shower products and hand made/crafty things. Played Fall again last night for the first time in ages and some stuff happened. Oh yes. It happened. Write up soon, like tomorrow maybe or Saturday.

Finally, Freakazoid and Candle Jack!

4 thoughts on “Things I Love Thursday

  1. Darn it, the Dowsett family stole my idea for your birthday present! *heads back to the drawing board* Also, hugs for the emo. Funerals are tough regardless of your relationship to the deceased because you see the sorrow of those you love and there’s so little you can do but offer support.

  2. I’ve been to a lot of funerals in my time, mainly because I have a huge family filled with old people. At family funerals I always used to talk to my elderly cousin, Pat. It was the only time I’d ever see him.

    Then Pat died. The first thing I thought when I found out was, “Who am I going to talk to at his funeral?”

    Isn’t that awful?

  3. Today, I wore jeans and drove a big car, just like Bella does!!! It was sunny, so I didn’t see any vampires (they were probably “camping”!!! MLIT.

  4. I was just listening to The Coral’s version of Dreaming of You. I’m listening to Radio 1’s Live Lounge album after I got put onto by another Wellingtonian over here.

    Slightly weird coinkydink.

Leave a Reply

