Baby Quilt

When I heard that my friends Morgue and Cal were having a baby my mission was obvious: make a baby quilt.

What wasn’t obvious was how to make this quilt different, to make it uniquely Cal and Morgue.

The answer lay in Spoonflower, their amazing print on demand service and the vast talents of the people who upload their own designs for people like me to purchase. I already had some fabrics which I hadn’t used yet, but I made another order specifically to get Cthulu.

The design of the quilt then had to allow for a large square to show off the design. I have had excellent success in the past with an alternating double square/economy patch design so I did that again.

This quilt ended up having a high concept behind it. It’s about the different worlds you visit when you’re a kid, playing with toys and using your imagination. Yeah, a high concept baby quilt. Here at Talula I just keep on pushing the boundaries don’t I?

These photos are bigger than they’re displaying on here, click on them if you want to see in more detail or with less distortion.

Red Riding hood, toys and monsters oh my!

My father in law thinks Cthulu is too scary for a baby but I say, if you grow up with Cthulu then you don’t need to fear him. If you had Cthulu on your baby quilt then you’d be way more prepared when he actually appears on this plane and takes over.

This adorable anime-inspired weather fabric is so incredibly cute I just want to show it to people all the time. Like see? See this cute thing? ACKNOWLEDGE THE CUTENESS. Mostly I just squee to myself and am contented.

What’s that? You’re sick of being tantalised with individual detail shots? You want to see the whole quilt? Oh all right then.

Boom! The whole baby quilt!

The rainbow binding fabric, the solid blue with white spots and the white with multi-coloured stars are all from Spotlight. The backing is red with white hippos fabric from Ikea.

A Little kiwiana tag with a fantail on it finishes it off. I gave it to them this afternoon and Cal may have shed a tear at the awesomeness of this quilt. I couldn’t possibly say for sure.

7 thoughts on “Baby Quilt

  1. I believe, and this is not entirely substantiated but word is on the street, that there is not a Jenni quilt that is not awesome. Also, I forgot my umbrella:)

  2. I can confirm that Cal did indeed shed tears at the awesomeness of the quilt. It’s absolutely stunning!! All the work and thought that has obviously gone into it – and it’s just so….so…..so….I’m a bit dumbfounded by how great it is.

    (Also, you may have noticed that I’m not so much into the gaming. Cthulu is the one and only gaming icon that I recognise. Over the years it has been a joke between Morgue and I, as a vague reference to Cthulu is all that I am able to contribute to any gaming conversation. So Cthulu FTW).

  3. That is awesome! I love the Cthulu (because of the ultimate creatures, Cthulu is a comforting background presence in our world too! My favourite panel is the castle with the sea and the lightning all around, but I acknowledge the anime weather-cuteness! (And Tom, who is my rainbow-son would love it!)

Leave a Reply

