Things I love Thursday

Beautiful reproduction posters from the early half of last century. There is much LOL in the Health and Safety section (esp “The enemy is Syphilis and Pneumonia strikes like a man eating shark! With it’s pilot fish the common cold!) and much prettiness at the travel and World’s Fair sections.

But the biggest thing I’m happy about right now is that I am done with my super-fast edit and rewrite of Rain. This afternoon it was printed, packaged and sent on its merry way to Auckland to be judged in the Tessa Duder awards. This edit/rewrite was intense. I had a minor hysterical meltdown about it last night. All today I’ve been wired, really tense and worried. That is all over now, there is nothing more that I can do. It’s out, it’s gone and it’s done.

Weird in Wellington on Tumblr is amazing. I’m pleased someone else is documenting street art/weird stuff on the road, because I keep thinking it’s a good idea and then doing nothing. Does anyone know who maintains it?

Things to look forward to: Another epic episode of Fall tonight, work Hallowe’en party tomorrow, my Hallowe’en/birthday party on Saturday night, Leonard Cohen on Sunday. These things are awesome in and of themselves but also because they herald such excellent things as costumes, costume photo opportunities, hanging out with friends, seeing my parents, hearing excellent music and receiving presents. Nice one.

Honourable mentions: This SMBC cartoon is so freaking true, shower when I get home so that I smell nice and feel not-sticky, loving husbands, Scott Pilgrim vols 5 + 6 arriving in the mail for me, reading the Absolute Sandman vol 4 and cool, fresh water.

4 thoughts on “Things I love Thursday

  1. Oh you are so awesome for finishing that Rain edit/rewrite!!! I am inspired by you yet again!!!

    TiLT: singing in front of Dame Malvina Major and not screwing it up!
    sitting in the sun in my fancy audition clothes with no shoes on while petals from the blossom trees fell around me
    airports
    sunshine
    the meowingest cat in the world watching me as I drink the worst glass of wine in the world. It’s better than it sounds.

  2. Love:
    -those posters… reckon I can find a way to incorporate a syphilis one into my monthly H & S talk?
    -Huge… I so want to identify with the main character, except I was never that cool! http://youtu.be/xCVOk29U1Tc
    -My exam being over!
    -Red and black poppies I forgot I’d planted
    -Zuchinni, tomato and basil seedlings (“They’re growing bufitly” says T)
    -My kids’ delight with scholastic book club books we got today… magic schoolbus box set, Scoopy doo phonics and Rascal the dragon
    -Delta Green last night!

  3. Hey there Jenni, thanks for the plug.

    I’m no one you know, just some random Wellingtonian guy who likes taking and sharing pictures of the odd stuff he sees wandering around the city and its suburbs.

    It’s not that I’m going out of my way to conceal my identity (it wouldn’t be hard for someone to find out who I was if he were really curious), but I’m not really interested in pushing myself out there, either. As far as the blog goes I’d rather keep the focus squarely on the weirdness. Though. If you see some guy around taking photos of graffiti/strangeness or fossicking through gutters for bits and pieces it’ll almost certainly be me. Feel free to come and say hi–I’m amiable enough. And not so eccentric that I make horses nervous.

    Nice Hell Girl costume, by the way.

    Off to wander around town a bit and get some more pictures. Keep it tight.

    Cheers,

    @weirdinwellington

Leave a Reply

