Writing Wednesday

It’s been ages since I did one of these but I managed to get some stuff done during my summer holiday so I figured maybe it was time.

I finished a spiralling-out-of-control short story finally. It’s pretty sweet and nice and I suspect I need to put a bit more horror, a bit more conflict into it. I wrote it long hand so I have the chance to play with the story as I type it up.

Then I went to the city library on Friday morning and accidentally started a new novel. It’s a lot more serious and real-worldy than my previous stuff. It will be a young adult novel that I hope will work, for all that it’s an Issue Book. I wrote about 6 pages of it on Friday and then a couple of pages from another scene yesterday while we waited for food at Joe’s Garage.

I also did a heap of work on my old mean girls game “I know, right?” It is now named “High School Princess”, is roughly twice as long and hopefully much much better. I did that thing where I realised readers of a document can’t see into my brain and actually explained the point of the game, the conflicts and the rules. I’ve passed it on to a few readers and I’m looking forward to finding out what they think about it.

I also took some steps towards making The Silver Kiss of the Magical Twilight of the Full Moon available for purchase online but I ran into a problem when it came to the cover image. I have sent an enquiry to Lulu and I’m waiting for them to get back in touch with me. Rest assured that I will be linking to the purchase place when it’s all sorted.

I got another rejection from a magazine on a short story I submitted, but I remain optimistic. 2011 is going to be a big year for me, I can tell. I have resolved to try to work as hard as I did during the Great Rain Rewrite of 2010 but also give myself no grief for not writing on any given day. I have to allow space in my head to evolve things or just to blob out.

Some linky:
Finding time to write is a good article that in turn lead me to the next ones.

Ignore the date in the title, this is a very straight forward and inspirational post about how to attract your writing dreams. Loved it.

An exercise to help you find your dream and what to focus on. It’s writing specific but there’s no reason you couldn’t use it for anything else you want to achieve.

Why vampires in Young Adult fiction are awesome by the wonderful Karen Healey.

A way to determine if you have Nice Writer Syndrome and how to battle it. (I totally have this, by the way, which is why it’s excellent that I have Steve in my head telling me to bring the conflict.)

Andrew Jack has been posting some excellent stuff on his blog lately (including competitions that I haven’t won). You should check him out, especially his new series on beating the odds and getting published.

4 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday

  1. You are doing so much great writing stuff!! Including updating this blog so regularly πŸ™‚ I remain impressed and inspired.

Leave a Reply

