Things I Love Thursday

I think we can all agree that it’s been a pretty bad week, world-wise. So, now more than ever it’s important to focus on the good things in life, so you don’t get sucked into a vortex of despair that the world is ending and society is breaking down or any of that bad stuff.

Weddings! I don’t think there’s a better excuse to get people together than to celebrate being in love with someone. It’s been aaaaaaages since I went to a wedding, but I have one coming up in November and one in March next year, so…yay!

Here’s the lovely and talented Matt Mulholland performing You’re the Voice:

Man, I love that song, and Matt Mulholland is freaking amazing. Someone get him a record deal, stat!

Or how about our old pal Tim Minchin’s Peace anthem for Palestine?

I ran my Silver Kiss LARP again the other day and it went really, really well. It was very different, but people had fun and the costumes were great and I felt good afterwards. Exhausted but good. Some really awesome photos from the night and new friends, which is always good.

I was thinking about why we roleplay and how it’s not a waste of time (like, compared to watching television or playing a video game on your own). Here are my half baked thoughts: you’re interacting with other people, and making connections, sharing stories that you can reminisce about later. You’re being incredibly creative – embodying a character who may be quite similar to you or wildly different, and you’re playing at having another mindset altogether. These are good things. Plus big LARPs like that you’re networking outside of the game as well, introducing people, forming connections that might end up being incredibly important later on. Woo, community!

Patchwork! I’ve been on a sewing jag lately, making a new baby quilt and in between sewing strips of selvage together with scraps. I might eventually have an actual scrap quilt, which would be pretty awesome. After another spectacular failure at crazy patchwork on the weekend I read some proper how-to guides and successfully made two squares of crazy patchwork which don’t suck. This is a big deal for me, because I’ve always loved the look of it and my previous attempts have all made me feel angry and unfulfilled. So, yay me! The only down side is that my hand quilting/finishing of projects has fallen behind my creation of new projects. Need some more hard hours in front of the TV or with friends over to catch up again. And by hard, I mean awesome.

Honourable Mentions: Meadow Fresh strawberry yoghurt, lunch with friends, writing roleplaying fic, warm socks, old movies, tumblr, Friday Night Lights (just about finished season 3), Californication, blasting pop music loudly and dancing, singing along, Britney Spears (I love her music!), scarfs and feeling clever.

3 thoughts on “Things I Love Thursday

  1. Awesome! I love finishing projects (like the seckret collaborative thing Debbie and I worked on in the holidays, and the two Last Ocean films we’ve made (and the third one which I’ll be posting tonight).

    I also love seeing students achieve at stuff, especially stuff they’ve found hard. Several groups of students finished off their documentaries today, while some others have been churning out awesome essays. It’s very satisfying to see!

    And seeing family is great – even if, like this week, it is at a funeral. I got to see some great photos of my grandma and granddad living it up at army and navy social events (my granddad was in the navy during WW2 and after, then in the army for a while).

  2. Hmmm. Why I roleplay? Community is definitely part of it. I love the Welly gaming community and our wee Palmy offshoot.The friendships that develop from those in-game connections can be pretty intense and lasting, especially when a game is emotionally intense.

    Creativity, I guess. I’d like to think I’m creative. For me, roleplaying (especially writing and GMing) is also a medium for exploring ideas or themes from different perspectives… Recently, I’ve been using roleplaying to work through issues that bother me… both wider social issues and personal stuff…

    TILT
    -Wednesday roleplaying! Jayde, my obsessive disturbed teenage character, Beauty her creepy floating eye with whom Jayde spies on her stoner mother having sex, Bruce, the Aussie surfer from an old photo, who Jayde thinks is her dad and writes endless letters to in her diary, and other childish things
    -Spring flowers, warmer weather, brighter light!
    -The special bond my boys have with each other
    -Sharing books I loved as a kid with my own kids and watching/listening as they roleplay the stories with their blocks and duplo
    -Penny-drop moments. Is this why I need to study?

Leave a Reply

