Kapcon Day 1

First round I was facilitating in the Games on Demand room. I ended up with four people keen to play Fiasco and we quickly decided on the “Toil and Trouble” Harry Potter -based playset, which I can safely say is one of my all time favourite sets to play. We decided to be one generation on from Harry and his friends.

We had Morag Malfoy, who’s father Draco had died and she was desperate for a new father figure. Larry, Barry and Albus Potter, who were identical triplets and all player characters. Oswald Blaze, the head of Sytherin House and my character Gertrude’s father. Gertrude was in Ravenclaw and therefore a disappointment to her father and romantically involved with Albus Potter, the most jock-like of the Potter triplets.

Morag and Larry were in a secret society looking to do away with the House system and accept all students. They were called the Hatless Few. Morag was in love with Larry and trying to adopt Oswald as her new father. Albus was trying to find the truth about the week he couldn’t remember and there was some drama with Larry being a cold hard bastard.

Gertrude had a contraband pensieve which was used to show the Potter triplets that they participated in a cross-species orgy in the Forbidden forest, which Oswald was somewhat responsible for. He was possessing people and using the imperious curse. Apparently it was all to get Getrude a lizard pet, but I can’t recall how it happened.

The Potter twins awoke in the Severus Snape Memorial Storeroom, having lost *another* week. In the end it was Gertrude, Barry and Albus vs the other PCs with time freezing spells and some kind of ritual to destroy the Sorting Hat once and for all. Gertrude ended up happy with Barry (they’d made out when she thought he was Albus), Albus sad and alone, the Potter Triplets estranged from each other, Oswald relatively happy and an average result for Morag.

Everyone seemed to have a good time, and although we were a bit rushed with some scenes I was very happy with how the session went.

Round 2 I was meant to be facilitating in Games on Demand but I ended up playing instead. Basically I forced Simon to run Monsterhearts for me, James, Nick and Cat. I played a Mortal called Timothy Deacon. He was quiet looking with sad eyes and he was Cassidy’s boyfriend. His true love was Cassidy, a weirdo unstable werewolf boy. Cat played Celene, a fae cheerleader who was interested in Timothy and Nick played Gabriel, a Chosen new kid in school who was a total bad ass.

I had a lot of fun throwing my character directly into conflict, like standing up to the two demonic jock bullies, sleeping with my boyfriend to trigger his darkest self, getting injured and sleeping over at Celene’s (well, not quite…) Gabriel and Tim had known each other as kids so we got on pretty well.

Gabriel: I’m kinda glad you’re on Tim’s side and all.
Cassidy: Yeah, someone threw him off a building tonight, so I have to find them and do something about it.
(The two of them walk out of the party, leaving the injured Tim in the tender care of the fae Celene)
Cassidy: I should let Tim know I’m going
Gabriel: I think Tim knows.
Cassidy: He does? How?
Gabriel: Well, you totally left the party and we’re like, twenty minutes into the forest now.

Meanwhile in Celene’s house a much more feral fey called Hound has arrived, and he is also rather taken with Tim.
Hound: He’s pretty, I want him.
Celene: He’s mine.
Hound: Yes, we’ll bring him back to Faerie and we’ll all take a turn.
Celene: But…I don’t want to share him.
Hound: You’ve been in this world too long. You’ve forgotten the fun we used to have.

Hound intruded on Tim in the bathroom and Tim ran away into the forest and straight into the demon jocks (escape into something worse! oh yes)

Demon!Chad calls Gabriel: I have your little fag friend.
Gabe: Oh really? Because I have a werewolf.

The game climaxed with the demons holding Tim over a waterfall, threatening to let him drop if Cassidy didn’t back off and let them kill Gabriel. Cassidy broke the stand off by pushing the jock holding Tim (and Tim) off the waterfall in a slam tackle. Celene opened a portal to Faerie and they all fell through. Gabriel killed the last demon jock. Tim and Cassidy are then trapped in the Fae realm, apparently forever.

Third round I played in Sophie’s excellent Hamlet meets Gossip Girl game “Kin is Less than Kind”

I don’t want to say too much about this LARP except that we all looked fabulous, I had a great (frustrated, hard, upset, emotional) time playing Serena Van der Woodsen/Hamlet/Harri Markden and thanks very much to Sophie for writing and running it!

^ Me as Harri

4 thoughts on “Kapcon Day 1

  1. Awesome write up and you look gorgeous with teh cute dress and hair. Sophie is genius for the inspired Hamlet/Gossip Girl concept. Actually a gossip girl version of most of Shakepeare’s tragedies would be cool. 🙂

    • awww thanks Debbie! Yeah, Sophie may already be talking about other Shakespeare plays she wants to rip off…

  2. Jenni,

    This is Joe Mcdaldno, the author of Monsterhearts. I just wanted to say that it’s been really cool to see so much AP coming out of Kapcon, letting me read up on all the games of Monsterhearts that got played there. Tim Deacon sounds like a fun character. Thanks for sharing this!

    Also, if you’re interested and don’t already know about this, Monsterhearts is available for preorder right now via IndieGoGo: http://www.indiegogo.com/Joe-Mcdaldno-1

    • Hi Joe! Wow, I feel like a celebrity XD I was in a couple of the first playtests Steve did for the game, so I’m a Monsterhearts fan from way back. I had a lot of fun playing Tim, the notes here are very brief but we ended up calling him “The ass that launched a thousand ships” because everyone seemed to want it XD Also loving the new sex move for the Mortal, very Buffy!

      I have already contributed to the IndieGoGo myself, but I definitely encourage others to sign up and do it!

Leave a Reply

