Writing something new

Experimental writing – I’m not that au fait with it honestly. I think I did more of it when I was a student and I thought I could change the world with poetry, and I tried to write a play based on Rapunzel, only the girl was trapped in a mental institution.

But… I’m writing this LARP at the moment… and okay, it started as a dream (which is not that unusual for my writing) but it’s becoming quite experimental.

I was trying to work out how to write it up to sell, and I realised that the props I’m making for this game are pretty integral to how it will play out. Well, I hope. You never can tell with LARPs.

Here’s my fear, with this kind of thing: that I don’t know what I’m doing, and that not knowing what I’m doing will mean that it doesn’t work.

Now, when I tell people about this fear, that the mystery is too obvious, that the players may not have fun… I am reassured. My friends (who have played in my LARPs) are confident that what I will produce will be fun. They are even looking forward to it.

I have trouble articulating how amazing it is that people have faith in my writing. It’s a feeling like no other. And that is what gives me the courage to keep on with these props, to keep thinking about these characters, the secrets at the heart of the game and the courage to present it at Fright Night, knowing in the back of my head that it may not work…

But I hope it will work. I hope Soldiers of Fortune is just as amazing as I dreamed it, that I blow people’s minds a bit. That I can offer it again at Kapcon.

Leave a Reply

