Crafting – affirmations quilt

Last night during a rather excellent and emotionally intense roleplaying session I finished off my affirmations quilt. I bound it with pale blue fabric printed with white stars. I put three loops in the top so I could put it up on the black wall above my bed.

P1080395

The finished beastie!

P1080396

I realised I hadn’t included my favourite ever quote, so I sewed it into the border. I may add some more as they occur to me.

P1080400

Here you can see it hung up in my bedroom, looking lovely.

So satisfying to finish a big project and especially one that is for me. It’s been a few years since I made myself a patchwork quilt!

The quotes are: a line from Dr Who episode ‘Vincent and the Doctor’, “Rain don’t change the sun”, “Jealous is the night when the morning comes” – both from Delta Rae ‘Morning Comes’.

Second row: “This life is more than just a read through” which is a Red Hot Chili Peppers gem from ‘Can’t Stop’, “Use my head alongside my heart” is from ‘I Will Wait’ by Mumford and Sons (I could have made an entire quilt of Mumford and Sons lyrics honestly), “Everything you feel is valid” which is something that Sophie once said to me.

“Here and now, breathe and relax” which was advice from a TED talk, “Breathe in, exhale, rush of blood to the heart” from Alt J ‘Bloodflood’

at the bottom “I am not afraid to keep on living” from ‘famous last words’ by My Chemical Romance, “I’m on top of the world, eh!” Imagine Dragons and finally a quote from Zenhabits “Stop waiting for happiness, happiness is right here, right now.”

Leave a Reply

