Superbad (2007)

Superbad
Directed by Greg Mottola
(number 486)

The story of three high school boys with a mission to get drunk and laid… which… isn’t a very original premise I have to say. Lots of swearing, lots of homophobic, misogynist language.

I’m in a bit of a bad mood, I didn’t sleep that well last night, I might be extra critical of the movie.

But I just… the whole white males in middle class America get up to shenanigans movie isn’t one that appeals to me, as a rule. I like some of the actors, Michael Cera and Emma Stone ❤ I'm not a fan of Jonah Hill, but I suspect it's because I don't enjoy the scripts of the things he's in.

There's a lot of gross out humour, a lot of swear words being used instead of jokes. I don't find a whole lot of people being awful or dumb amusing particularly.

Does it make me love the people? Well, that's a tough one. Like, every now and then I'd find one of those characters would be a bit endearing but then they'd start spewing homophobic insults and the actual worst cops ever.

Bechdel test: Weirdly yes in the last ten minutes the two girl objects of the male leads's affections are shown together at the mall, talking about the stuff they did at the party last night… as in, vomiting and so on.

Best line: Uhhhhh…. I'm sure I laughed at something but I don't remember what it was. I think the dancing silhouettes over the opening credits were my favourite thing.

State of Mind: Patriarchy, privilege… I just… urgh. URGH.

Leave a Reply

