The Lion King (1994)

The Lion King
Directed by Roger Allers
(number 327)

I have seen this movie many a time and used to own it on video, and we had the soundtrack so I know it very well.

This time though, I saw it at the drive in, which was an exciting new adventure out in Trentham race course. The screen was strung up on a building and the sound was transmitted over radio, so we tuned in for the soundtrack. Good fun, plus you can bring all sorts of snacks and eat them and you don’t have to worry about your rustling packets bothering other people.

The movie is fantastic. Epic music, painfully dramatic events, beautiful artwork. I especially enjoy the very wide shots which show lots of the sky. The stars… with Mufasa in them… gah. So many emotions. It’s clever and silly and heart wrenching and dear god if Jeremy Irons as Scar isn’t the best villain you’ve ever seen…. well, I don’t know what you’ve been watching.

Does it make me love the people? Where people means animals. I guess people are characters, so in this case all the emotions the lions are displaying….yes. It makes me love the characters. I adore Simba and Nala. But Rafiki is my favourite character now. He’s awesome.

Bechdel test: Nooooo….

Best line: [many]
“You have forgotten who you are and so forgotten me.”

“Asante sana Squash banana, Wiwi nugu Mi mi apana.”

Adult Simba: I know what I have to do. But going back means I’ll have to face my past. I’ve been running from it for so long.
[Rafiki hits Simba on the head with his stick]
Adult Simba: Ow! Jeez, what was that for?
Rafiki: It doesn’t matter. It’s in the past.
[laughs]
Adult Simba: Yeah, but it still hurts.
Rafiki: Oh yes, the past can hurt. But from the way I see it, you can either run from it, or… learn from it.

State of Mind: That was super awesome XD

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.