Enter the Dragon (1973)

Enter the Dragon
Directed by Robert Clouse
(number 474)

The final film that Bruce Lee made before he died, apparently he died three weeks before the movie premiered.

It has a cameo from Jackie Chan in it, but besides that a lot of stars of the time. It has a definitely blaxploitation vibe, despite being set in Hong Kong and this is emphasised by the presence of Jim Kelly as Williams. That dude rocks an afro and has some of the best lines.

It was filmed without sound, so all the dialogue and sound effects were dubbed over later. I think that’s kind of interesting. It’s more interesting than a lot of the movie.

It was a great way to see 70s China, and the fashion and stuff, but.. I just didn’t get into it.

Does it make me love the people? I don’t think so… it’s very much a by the numbers kind of movie, the kind you can imagine they churned out a dozen of in a year. I mean, there were a bunch of fancy set pieces, impressive athletics on display, but there’s not that much story or characterisation.

Bechdel test: Nope, not that I noticed.

Best line:…

State of Mind: I feel like I’ve seen this movie before, I haven’t, but I feel like I have. I’ve seen so many of this kind of film. I guess I don’t really see what the big deal is, unless it’s just watching Bruce Lee kick things and in that case, it was awesome. Bruce Lee kicks well.

2 thoughts on “Enter the Dragon (1973)

  1. Enter the Dragon gets all the love in these lists, but Fists of Fury is clearly a much better Bruce Lee movie. Probably because this one is an American co-production and therefore more widely seen.

Leave a Reply

