The Sixth Sense (1999)

The Sixth Sense
Directed by M. Night Shyamalan
(number 338)

I was surprised that neither Ellen nor Blair had seen this film before. I think there’s a lot of preconceptions around this film, and I think the two main ones are absolutely false. The main ones being: this film is only about the twist and the second: it’s M. Night’s best work.

I already spoke a bit about how I think it’s unfair that people judge his later films on this one. That people want to recreate the magic of seeing this for the first time – unspoiled. I dispute that because I think that this movie is amazing, regardless of the twist. The careful cinematography, the creepy atmosphere, the beautiful performances … these things are all greater than the twist in my opinion. That said, I don’t think that this film is necessarily M Night’s best film. I love Unbreakable but Signs is most likely my absolute favourite.

The scene at the end where Malcolm speaks to Anna, as she sleeps, is absolutely transcendent. So heartfelt and beautiful, and through it they both learn to let go and to move on. It gives me chills, honestly. The performances are gentle but they are no less strong for it.

Does it make me love the people? Absolutely. I love Toni’s Lynn, who’s so fiercely protective of her son and wants to help him so much, I love Malcolm – Bruce Willis does an amazing job in this role, warm and understated and of course I love Cole. Hayley Joel Osment’s performance is astounding, so strange and convincing. He’s utterly convincing and that’s why this film is heartbreaking.

Bechdel test: Sadly no. It’s just off the edge of passing it a few times. Lynn talks to Tommy Tammisino’s mother but she’s not named. Anna talks to a woman when she’s selling her a ring but she’s credited as ‘young woman buying ring’, and Kyra, her sister and Anna only talk to Malcolm or Cole. Kyra talks to her mother in the video evidence that Cole gives her father but her mother is only called Mrs Collins. It’s close…but not cigars.

Best line:

Kyra’s sister: “Is Kee-wa coming back?”
Cole: “Not anymore.”
(Heart shatters)

Cole: “Every day”
(heart shatters further)

State of Mind: Heart… shattered… needs more chocolate. OMG I love this film!

Leave a Reply

