Writing Wednesday

I’ve been chipping away at Kiki – my first novel, which is a middle school pitched story about two girls who find out they have magical powers, accidentally go into Faerie and have to try and find their way back. Similar to books like Narnia or Alice in Wonderland. They meet lots of neat characters along the way and learn about themselves and each other, etc etc.

I’ve been feeling pleased with doing just a couple of pages a day but something neat happened on Saturday. I went along with Anna to her barbershop group practice and sat and wrote while they sang. I could have just stayed behind at her house, but I’d read this brief article about ambient noise boosting creativity.

I guess it inspired me to try it out. So I took my new wee windows tablet and it’s dinky bluetooth keyboard along with me, sat at the dining table and over the course of the three ish hours of singing, in between breaks for puzzle games, I got 15 pages of my book rewritten.

I’m pretty pleased with this progress.

Also I’ve found that coming home after a busy day at work I sometimes feel a bit brainless. In a lot of ways, feeling a bit brainless is the best frame of mind for me to concentrate on writing; there are no distractions, my brain is calm and open, I can just plunge into the story and focus clearly.

So my optimum writing times at the moment are when I’ve just woken up or when I’m feeling sort of tapped out. In fact I have been known to have a brief nap on the weekend and then wake up to do some writing – the sleep sweeps my mind clean.

Ambient sound is also a great one – I usually put on some calm quiet music like Leonard Cohen or Belle and Sebastian, but there are some amazing ambient noise websites purpose built for writers. This is my favourite: Soundrown because you can mix and match different sound genres (I seem to gravitate to some mix of birds, night and rain).

As of this evening I’m sitting at 77 of 136 pages rewritten, and feeling great about my progress.

One thought on “Writing Wednesday

  1. I’m just getting round to catching up on my feeds. This is great, J 🙂

    I have a similar writing pattern, and I’ve just started using ambient noise too.

    Congrats on the progress!

Leave a Reply

