Beauty and the Beast (1991)

Beauty and the Beast
Directed by Gary Trousdale, Kirk Wise
(number 436)

I was so obsessed with this movie when it came out… you have no idea. My sister and I had a sticker book and you had to buy the stickers in a blind packet of 5 or 6 and it was random and we were trying to collect them all to fill up the book. I had so many doubles of those stickers and I don’t think we ever actually finished it. Plus we had the soundtrack and we listened to it endlessly.

I’ve probably seen it 40 thousand times over the years but y’know. It’s always fun to watch it again. I was struck with a lot of memories of the stage show version I saw a few years back.

Ellen laughed at me for singing along, but ‘I use antlers in all of my decorating’ is one of the best songs in any musical ever and no one can convince me otherwise.

The movie is a classic Disney princess fairy tale, complete with an ‘I want’ song at the start, and comedic sidekicks – it had the interesting change to the classic princesses, with Belle yearning for adventure rather than marriage, but of course her adventure just ends up being marriage to a beastly dude.

The music is divine, the art is gorgeous and there are many quotable lines. I really do love this movie.

Does it make me love the people? It’s a Disney movie, there’s nothing but love and sweetness.

Bechdel test: Do you know how happy I am? Yes, it does. There’s a scene after the Beast has yelled at Belle and she’s refused to come to dinner, where Mrs Potts and the (female) wardrobe comfort her. Mrs Potts offers her tea and it’s totally focussed on Belle’s predicament and not Beast. Lovely.

Best line: I use antlers in all of my decorating!

State of Mind: Comforted, which may have to do with the KFC I ate with it.

Leave a Reply

