The Blues Brothers (1980)

The Blues Brothers
Directed by John Landis
Written by John Landis and Dan Aykroyd
(number 268)

I first watched this movie some summer when I was around 16 and mum and dad let me have the portable tv in my room and I watched all these awesome classic movies late into the night. This was one of those and it came on and I was just like “I don’t know what this is, but it’s brilliant!”

I’ve loved it ever since. Elwood and Jake slope and grift their way through some amazingly silly situations and somehow make it all look cool. There are some amazing cameos, Twiggy, Carrie Fisher, Frank Oz, Aretha Franklin… so many. So very many amazing people.

The soundtrack is epic, I can sing along to most of it and I have it on cd in my car. The actors, the silliness, the coolness and the soundtrack all combined to make this movie the deserved cult classic that it is. It’s just so much fun to watch.

There are some impressive stunts, impressive car chases and pile ups and dancing too. In contrast to Seven Brides which had musical numbers that came from nowhere and seemed bizarre, this movie’s musical numbers all seem to make sense. At least half of them are actually framed as performances, which helps.

Does it make me love the people? Absolutely. You get the cool as ice intro to Jake being let out of prison and the first thing he does when his brother picks him up is give him a big warm hug. It’s beautiful

Bechdel test:

Best line:

Elwood: It’s 106 miles to Chicago, we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it’s dark… and we’re wearing sunglasses.
Jake: Hit it.

OR

Rollin’ rollin’ keep them doggies rollin, Rawhide!

State of Mind: always a swingin good time

One thought on “The Blues Brothers (1980)

  1. My music teacher in high school played Blues Brothers for us at least once a week. Not sure if we learnt anything about music in that class, we weren’t complaining though.

Leave a Reply

