Snatch (2000)

Snatch
Written and directed by Guy Ritchie
(number 467)

I believe I’ve actually only watched this once before and it was back in like, 2001 and I was pretty sick with a fever so my experience of it was definitely tainted by being sort of high with fever and convinced I could understand everything Brad Pitt said. Also I had to pause the movie part way through and have like, a two hour fever nap. Mostly I remembered this film as the not as fun, more violent successor to Lock Stock. I found, watching it again that I remembered barely anything about the story or the characters.

Brad Pitt is awesome. he vanishes into the characters he’s cast as and it’s so very well done in this film, where he plays the fast, unintelligible brogue of a ‘pikey’ or Gypsy/Romany. He’s funny and roguish and damn charismatic. Plus he looks great with his shirt off and fake tats so that doesn’t hurt.

This whole movie is funny, roguish and charismatic actually. Mr Madonna’s follow up to Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels didn’t do as well as the former, as I recall. The movie is a quick jump into a stylised seedy underbelly of London with very little scene or character setting. It’s full of men, fast talking swearing men doing crimes and backstabbing each other over some diamonds and a boxing match.

It’s a good film for actors before they were real big, like Vinnie Jones and Jason Statham. Benicio Del Toro doesn’t often get a lead role so it’s nice for him too.

Does it make me love the people? I dunno, it’s a movie about style, not really about real people. I appreciate the movie because it’s the forerunner of films like ‘In Bruges’ which I really love. But I don’t know, the characters are cool and stupid and not just hard to empathise with but kind of repulsive. So, I’d say that’s a no.

Bechdel test: there are a couple of vaguely named women but they talk to the men, and generally about other men. I didn’t notice them ever talking to each other, it’s such a man centric film.

Best line:
Avi: I’m gettin’ heartburn. Tony, do something terrible.

State of Mind: That movie was not as fun as I remembered and actually pretty violent and the story was much less involving. It’s too scattered and not enough time is given to who the characters are, it’s so hard to care about them and what’s going on. I guess it’s the style choice, like ADD story of dudes who are bad at crime but I just didn’t enjoy watching it very much.

Watched movie count

Leave a Reply

