X-Men 2 (2003)

X-Men 2 or as imdb wants me to call it X2
Directed by Bryan Singer, superhero whisperer
Screenplay written by Michael Dougherty, Dan Harris and David Hayter based on story by Zak Penn, David Hayter and Bryan Singer
(number 432)

This is the only X-Men movie on the 500 list, but Anna and I watched the first one right before it because why the hell not? My absolute favourite X Men movie is First Class but this one was my favourite up until that came out.

The opening sequence of this film is killer – Nightcrawler in the White House just bamfing around like a total bad ass. I really like Nightcrawler as a character, because he’s so gentle and kind despite his appearance and his power is super cool. Teleportation is the best super power, I’ve known that since I played a teleporter in a superhero roleplaying game Dale ran.

The story is more involving than the first movie, it’s less origin story and more interesting villain/character development which I appreciate.

Best joke of the movie: Pyro doesn’t like the uncomfortable silence in Scott’s car, so leans through to the front to turn on the stereo and ‘Bye bye bye’ by N*Sync comes on. It’s so perfect because it so perfectly fits boring old Scott Summers’ bland personality.

Although generally the idea of society reacting to mutants is an allegory for racism, in this film there’s a great scene for mutant powers as homosexuality where Bobby literally has to come out to his family and they don’t take it well. It’s horribly awkward and painful but very beautifully done.

I really love the scene right after it too when the police arrive and Rogue uses her power to stop Pyro killing a bunch of people. It’s understated and the acting is fantastic, Pyro’s face when he realises what she’s done to him is incredible.

Jason, the poor sucker mustant with Styker for a father who can project images and control people’s minds appears to Charles as a little girl, which is interesting to me. I mean, sure it’s a good way to hide who he is from Charles but I also like the idea that Jason is trying out a different gender identity.

Does it make me love the people? Yes it does, especially Rogue, Ice Man and Pyro. I find it a bit hard to care too much about Wolverine. I do love Magneto and Professor X though, I ship it.

Bechdel test: Yes, because of Storm and Jean this movie passes a few times over. Mystique is a bit confusing though because she talks to men and women but sometimes she’s a man when she does it? But because of Storm and Jean we’re all good in this film.

Best line:
Mrs. Madeline Drake: [to Bobby] Have you ever tried… not being a mutant?

State of Mind: The death of Lady Deathstryke is really deeply disturbing, especially when it’s been established that she’s acting under mind control. I have never really noticed how happy Wolverine is to kill people before I watched this again, but then I suppose that’s what Wolverine is for… it just seems very harsh and intense.

I like the movie a lot, and I like the Phoenix bit at the end but I sort of get bored once the story moves from the school to Stryker’s base, from that point on it’s really just action sequences and less character stuff.

Watched movie count

Leave a Reply

