Jurassic Park (1993)

Jurassic Park
Directed by Steven Spielberg
Written by David Koepp and Michael Crichton based on the book by Crichton
(number 242)

I first saw this movie when I was 13 years old, to the cinema in Lower Hutt with Regan and we both got proper freaked out. For some reason the theatre we saw it in had a T Rex skeleton installed in the front near the screen and I spent a good part of the movie checking on it, making sure it wasn’t moving. I also chewed a lot of my nails down to the quick. I saw it a second time as well but I can’t really remember. I also remember watching it at various sleepovers. It’s an infinitely rewatchable film to me.

I have always loved dinosaurs, my favourite bath toy as a kid was a blue plastic plesiosaur from the old Wellington museum gift shop. We had a couple of awesome dinosaur books as well which I would spend a lot of time pouring over the pictures and trying to imagine how big they would actually be.

Seeing Jurassic Park I had the same reactions to the dinosaurs that Drs Grant and Sattler had to seeing the brachiosaur – pure awe. The animation was so real.. and it still looks really good. We watched this on Blu-Ray on our nice big HD TV and it really holds up. They might have touched it up for the blu-ray release, I dunno. Last year we had Jurassic World and I saw that at the iMax, I feel like the animation of the dinosaurs hasn’t significantly changed… they just look real to me.

Does it make me love the people? I love Grant, Sattler and Malcolm straight away. The cute kids take a little more getting used to. I keep thinking about the book and how the girl was younger and sports obsessed in the book and the boy was older and techy. I kind of like that they traded it around somewhat and made the boy a science nerd instead of sportsy.

Plus how can you not love baby Samuel L Jackson as Arnold, the security officer who is too old for this shit. It’s like seeing Nick Fury before he got recruited to Shield. If only he didn’t die in that way…

Bechdel test: Ellie and Lex talk off screen about how Lex should ride with Dr Grant… which doesn’t pass because off screen and also it was talking about a guy. Lex and Ellie are generally separate for most of the movie, and they’re the only women characters, unless you count all the dinosaurs which… yeah I don’t think that’s a thing. They are together in the big climactic scramble but I think they pretty much talk to Alan Grant and not to each other.

Best line:

Dr. Ian Malcolm: God creates dinosaurs. God destroys dinosaurs. God creates man. Man destroys God. Man creates dinosaurs.
Dr. Ellie Sattler: Dinosaurs eat man. Woman inherits the earth.

Nedry encounters a curious dilophosaurus watching him and chirping: Oh… that’s nice…. – turns away –

Dr. Ian Malcolm: Anybody hear that? It’s a, um… It’s an impact tremor, that’s what it is… I’m fairly alarmed here.

Dr. Ellie Sattler: we can discuss sexism in survival situations when I get back.

State of Mind: Even though I can pretty much recite this movie, and there are no surprises in this movie for me, I love it to bits. The dinosaur geek in me is so happy every time.

Watched movie count

Leave a Reply

