Bridesmaids (2011)

Bridesmaids
Directed by Paul Feig
Written by Kristen Wiig and Annie Mumolo
(number 368)

This movie was a smash when it came out. Possibly because it was the first time Hollywood did a big ensemble comedy with gross out humour and stuff but starring women and not men? I mean, we’d had lots of Hangovers and stuff, but all women and actually written by women? And it did well, so it showed the movie studios that there is an audience for this kind of thing.

I’ve seen it once before and I think I only paid half attention because very little of it is familiar when I rewatch. I love Kristen Wiig, I love her in Girl Most Likely and I’m looking forward to her in Ghostbusters (edited later: LOVED her in Ghostbusters). Plus Rose Byrne is gorgeous and I love Melissa Mccarthy so it’s a great line up.

Waching this with Anna opened my eyes to how awful this movie is when it comes down to what they do and say to each other. These are some pretty cartoonishly awful people. Kid’s swearing at their step mothers who just kind of laugh it off.

Having said that, I also really love the baking sequences. There’s something so soothing and beautiful about watching skilled people creating food. It’s not the main focus of the film or anything but it reminds me of Waitress, Julie and Julia, No Reservations, movies like that. I love food. I love watching good photography of food.

Does it make me love the people? I love Annie, and I feel a lot for her because she’s so hard done by and fooling herself about how bad her relationship with pretty pretty John Hamm is. I also love Megan, because Melissa Mccarthy, and she’s so good and down to Earth, calling people out on their bullshit and shaking Annie out of her slump.

Oh and I love Nathan, he’s the genuine nice guy but he isn’t a doormat. He’s thoughtful and sweet, maybe not as sexy as John Hamm but that’s okay too.

Right after Anna said she liked two of the minor bridesmaids, I said I’d love it if they’re just kiss, and then they did! So that was pretty awesome. Rita and Becca..

Bechdel test: Yes! Many times. Just in the first few minutes Annie talks to her best friend Lilian about stealing private trainer time, and later talks to her flatmate Brynn about her new, free, hideous tattoo. But it passes over and over, which is lovely.

Best line:

Drunk and stoned!Annie: Whatever you say ‘Stove’.
Flight Attendant Steve: It’s Steve.
Annie: ‘Stove’ what kind of a name is that?
Steve: That’s not a name. My name is Steve.
Annie: Are you an appliance?
Steve: No I am a man, and my name is Steve.
Annie: You’re a flight attendant.

State of Mind: Overall I enjoy is film, even if it is a bit heteronormative (a woman needs a man to be happy), if only Rita and Becca could have ended up together. Anyway, the nastiest stuff pretty much happens in the first half. In the second half things start being a bit sweeter and a bit funnier to me. I love the sequence where Annie and Helen repeatedly drive past Nathan, doing various things to get his attention.

Watched movie count

One thought on “Bridesmaids (2011)

  1. I so agree with what you said about how awful parts of it are in regards to how people speak to and treat each other. But I also like this in a way because I do think it pretty accurately portrays how shite people can be to each other, and how shite people let others treat them! Ugh, society.

    I found this movie preeeetty funny. I find Annie really relatable (the last time I watched this film I was with a guy and he kept saying “UM she’s crazy…” but I totally ‘get’ her! :-p). And, let’s be honest, I love a film that is actually focused on women. As you say, it is heteronormative, but the entire movie is not completely focused on this, so that’s great.

Leave a Reply

