Rainbow baby quilt

20161120_163516

I was over the moon when Jay and Sophie told me they were having a baby. Not just because I love the two of them and I want them to be happy and their baby will be awesome, but because I knew I could go all out on the geekiness with a baby quilt for them. Knowing that both Jay and Sophie play Pokemon Go, and inspired by pokemon quilts on pinterest like this one I went on aliexpress and bought some pokemon fabric.

20161124_201036

Rainbow quilts have inspired me as well lately, and I realised that I’d previously bought a bundle of rainbow plain fabrics at a spotlight sale. I went with 2 and a half inch strips of rainbow fabric, 3 and a half inch squares of fussy cut characters or patterns and had a lot of fun making cobblestone blocks. This quilt came together fast, and I backed it with my favourite Ikea animals (running out!). I quilted it as quick as I could too, so I could bring it down to Wellington on my work trip and deliver it to Jay.

a__8013

He wasn’t at his desk when I dropped it off so I didn’t get to see the reaction, but the excited texts and big hugs I got next time I saw him made up for that. Very pleased with this quilt 🙂

Leave a Reply

