Halloween mini quilts

20161016_211530

Some weekend day last year, I tracked down all my Halloween themed fabrics and just started cutting stuff up and sewing it together. I did a bit of fussy cutting to get some of the cutest characters featured. I found some checkerboard stuff to lift the fabrics some and as I was putting it together and loving it, I realised it wasn’t a quilt for me. It was a quilt for my dear, Halloween and Goth stuff loving friend Jack. Once I had it at a decent small lap quilt/large wall hanging sort of size I put it together with a backing of Goosebumps duvet cover from Trash Palace.

Once I’d put that together I figured I should make one for myself as well. Using some of the off cuts from the first one, and some new discounted Halloween fabric from Spotlight I made a smaller, darker and a little less fun one for myself. Don’t get me wrong, I still really like the second one, but it’s not quite as ‘wow!’ to me. It’s more sedate.

20161030_162719

At the time of writing this second one is still in the same state – just a quilt top. I had a busy end of year getting baby quilts and Christmas craft done so I haven’t got it put together yet.

Leave a Reply

