Braveheart (1995)

Braveheart
Directed by Mel Gibson
Written by Randall Wallace
(number 328)

When this movie came out, it was one of those Hollywood moments where two very similar films came out at the same time. My family went to see the other one, Rob Roy. I really liked Rob Roy, I couldn’t see how Hollywood and Mel Gibson could have done a better version of a similar story. Not the same story, obviously, but… very similar.

I may have seen this at a sleepover at a friend’s house, actually. She really loved it, and I may have seen it then but I also may have mostly slept through it. I am at least a quarter Scottish. I should be loving the history lesson here, but good lord why is it three hours long?

It looks so cold there. It looks a lot like New Zealand actually, the hills and the trees. The greenness of it, the large arching sky.

Good Lord, Prima Nocta.. this movie, if nothing else demonstrates how awful an idea it is. Can we please stop giving Iron Man a pass for joking about it in the Avengers? Please ? Literal sanctioned rape. Anyway, it’s a really good way to make the bad guys unforgiveable.

The battle scenes are big, epic, impressive.. well. I imagine that they were at the time. In a post Lord of the Rings world, where epic battles just get bigger and more elaborate all the time I can’t say I was particularly blown away. At the time though, CG wasn’t really a thing, so they really did have to have 6000 extras, and that’s pretty impressive.

Oh hey, evil, weak gay people. Representation matters and this is one of many examples of gay people being the villains – the prince is clearly weak and foppish, despised by his father, and the fact that he is gay/bi is the subject of court gossip. And then of course, his lover, Philip is thrown unceremoniously out a window. So, we have the two man LGBTQA tropes present: gay people are evil and one of them is killed before the end of the movie. So… yeah, this is that crap representation we’re all hoping will die out soon.

Does it make me love the people? The love story at the beginning is sweet, it made me care about William and Murron. They’re both exceptionally pretty and filmed in very flattering ways. It seems very uncomfortable to make love standing up on a waterfall but it looks nice on camera. Once things start going bad though I found myself unable to keep affection for William.

Bechdel test: Two French noble women talk to each other, but it’s about William Wallace and the man one of them slept with the night before. So, although we have a bunch of women named, they only talk to or about the men.

Best line:

“It’s tearing me apart!” ) but only because of the Room.

William Wallace: There’s a difference between us. You think the people of this country exist to provide you with position. I think your position exists to provide those people with freedom. And I go to make sure that they have it.

State of Mind: Thank goodness it’s over? Like, it’s brutal. So much torture and death. I didn’t enjoy it very much, I don’t understand why it’s so beloved and I’m not going to watch it again. I got bored enough while watching it that I started a thread on facebook for teenage crushes, and that was a lot of fun.

Watched movie count

Leave a Reply

