The Untouchables 1987

The Untouchables
Directed by Brian De Palma
Written by David Mamet based on the book by Elliot Ness and Oscar Fraley
(number 302)

content warning: kids in danger a couple of different times in this movie.

What caught my eye in the opening credits? Wardrobe by Georgio Armani. Fancy! But such a sensible choice when everyone’s going to be wearing suits. Plus this film was made at the height of product placement being a fad in movies. Well, for one of the first times anyway.

Jesus H. I didn’t expect that for the opening. Immediately having flashbacks to the Battle of Algiers which I so didn’t brace myself for. Thankfully I’ve watched enough movies at this point that I predicted what was about to happen…

Awww, itty baby Kevin Costner. The tone of this movie is a bit hard to pick. It starts with a big shock, that’s for sure. Then you have Ness introduced as a lovable do-gooder, a teetotaller who takes no shit and is perfectly happy to bulldoze into a warehouse with a snow plow, just cause it might have smuggled cargo inside. There’s jokes, like with the press photographer. Then we get Capone just… baseball batting a guy to death over dinner. I felt off footed because it was hard to go ‘okay it’s this kind of movie’. Maybe that was intentional? I dunno. It’s jarring anyway.

There’s some very OTT music at points, I gotta say. The soaring Spielberg hero music as they bust the Post Office stash is very discordant to me. Like, yeah, we get it that they’re doing good but lord… we don’t need the ‘Peter Pan remembers who he is’ music to illustrate it. I liked the Opera sequence, though. Added some real gravitas to Malone’s final scenes.

Does it make me love the people? Hell yes. I love Ness right away, I love Malone as soon as he’s introduced and I love their recruits. This could all be my relief for watching a gang crime movie where the cops are actually the heroes feeding into my affection, but still. It’s hard not to enjoy Connery in this role. Super sad when Wallace bought it too 😦 I liked that little guy and then Malone. Yeah, it hurt.

How can you not love Ness when that incredible sequence in the train station with the baby carriage happens? It’s a genius sequence. Really good, really tense.

Bechdel test: Noooo, we have characters who are women and some of them are even named, but they only talk to men and seldom appear in the same scene. Not terribly surprising, but disappointing all the same.

Best line:

Ness: Hey, wait a minute! What the hell kind of policemen you got in this god damn city? You just turned your back on an armed man.
Malone: You’re a treasury officer.
Ness: How do you know that? I just told you that.
Malone: Who would claim to be that who was not? Hmm?

I want to reference the bring a knife to a gun fight moment but the full quote includes racist slurs soooo… knives to gun fights references happen in this movie and I appreciate that.

State of Mind: Didn’t expect to, super enjoyed this film. It’s interesting and kept me hooked on the story, plus the characters were so good. I had a lot of feels. It’s well written, not too dumbed down and not too intellectual or fast talking. Also, I’m one more movie off having watched and blogged the bottom 200 movies off the list! 😀

Watched movie count

Leave a Reply

