Selvedge quilt

I started to make a selvedge quilt a long time ago. Basically in between other projects or even concurrently, I’ve been sewing together strips and scraps of selvedge and leftovers from other projects into loose log cabins. I don’t like cutting off the sewing machine thread in between bits, so having a basket or two of strips beside the machine means it’s easy enough to have this going. I think I moved up to Auckland with three or four decent sized log cabins, that was two and a half years ago now and I’ve been pretty consistently sewing since.

At the start of the year I realised I’d been doing this long enough I could make a quilt of it. I used a couple of mismatched blocks to change things up a little, made sure the log cabins were the same size and sewed them together with wide white borders. It was kind of weirdly tall and thin so I made use of the long pieces of strips I’d been sewing together as well, with an eye for just this kind of use. The piece I used for the sides was so wide I was able to cut it in half lengthwise so there’s some symmetry there. The top and bottom is mostly leftover square shapes which I sewed into a long piece.

I did this while I was on my summer holiday, got it assembled and pinned, and then left it for a while so I could get some more urgent baby quilt projects done. For the backing, a huge leftover piece of cheater quilt fabric which I had from a baby quilt project.

Once it was time to pick it up and hand quilt I had to think about who was going to receive this beauty. Not everyone would appreciate a ‘leftover bits’ quilt, and it’s so bitsy, so many different fabrics. Then I thought of the perfect recipient and became excited to finish and give it to her.

I picked out a couple of details to showcase, but as you can see from the closeups there’s a lot going on in this quilt. I love it to bits, and I hope Alexis and her cat, Toby, do too.

Leave a Reply

