Camping in the USA quilt

Inspiration taken from this pin which I saw while on holiday in Summer. The appeal of this one was the simplicity – just strips and squares making up strips. Then I realised I could use the theme of the quilt as well, as I’d bought some charm square packs that would fit the camping/outdoors theme. Once I’d tracked down the two sets of charm squares (one little one larger) and went through my stash to find other fabrics which matched the theme. I finally got to use some Cowboys stuff I’d bought ages ago.

I made some of the strips wider and some of them narrower to give it some interest, then when it was big enough gave it a thin white sashing and a cheater quilt border since the pattern and colours seemed to match.

During the course of sewing it up I was wondering who it was for and then I realised – I have a friend who went on a one person camping trip through the States. My old nemesis Fraser. So once I had the quilt top together and knew it was for Fraser, I had the perfect donated vintage star wars sheet to use for the backing.

I didn’t do too much interesting with the hand quilting, I just followed the lines for the most part. I picked out a couple of foxes, hedgehogs and merit badge looking things in the various fabrics but it was straight forward handquilting.

