Scarface (1983)

Scarface
Directed by Brian De Palma
Written by Oliver Stone
(number 292)

Here I go with another crime/gangster movie, with another almost three hour movie, with another critically acclaimed movie about people being assholes and I’m meant to care about it somehow? Oliver Stone, Brian de Palma, it all feels like the usual suspects of stuff I’ve already watched. Just set in a slightly different town and with people pulling different accents as they swagger and talk tough.

I didn’t know the Mariel boatlift was a thing, so reading up about that on wikipedia was pretty cool. And that this movie was made just a couple of years after it happened. Does this film count as immigrant fear mongering? Because it does seem to focus on how Cubans are all criminals.

So, okay. This movie is a little more brutal than other gangster/crime movies I’ve watched maybe. The sequence with the chainsaw in the bathroom is just nightmare fuel. I guess it’s a kind of making Tony look better thing – he’s not as nasty as the people with the chainsaw, he’s not the one carving people up. You feel like him chasing the guy down and shooting him was justified rather than just y’know, brutal. So yeah. I guess although the sequence was deeply unpleasant it was a way to frame Tony in a more sympathetic way.

I like the Miami landscapes, the lushness of the sets and the ridiculous OTT mansion Tony buys himself.

Does it make me love the people? I… no. No, it does not. I feel a little sorry for Elvira but.. eh.

Bechdel test: Elvira Hancock and Gina are our biggest characters, but they never speak. Then there’s Tony’s mother and she does talk to Gina, but it’s about Tony – arguing over whether he should be allowed to stay in the house or not. So we’ve covered the three main roles women can play: mother, virgin/little sister/needs protecting innocent and whore/love interest. Yayyy…

Best line: The world is yours

nah, it’s probably gotta be Tony with his gun: Say hello to my little friend!

State of Mind: I just… am not interested in these stories to be honest. I am feeling so done with these crime movies, which is bad news because I know I have more on the list to get through. Hopefully they won’t all be three hours long… I don’t think I love Oliver Stone movies.

Watched movie count

2 thoughts on “Scarface (1983)

Leave a Reply

