The Lady Vanishes (1938)


Directed by Alfred Hitchcock
Written by Sidney Gilliat based on the short story by Ethel Lina White
(number 277)

An early Hitchcock. I think the only one I’ve seen of his which was earlier was the 30 Steps. If I have indeed seen that one, which I don’t actually recall if I have or not. Anyway, it’s got all the hallmarks of a great Hitchcock – trains, weird disappearances, ordinary people and a good sticky mystery.

The film is beautifully made, just like all of Hitchcock’s work, it’s slick, the people are stylish and the lighting is totally perfect all through. There’s some great sound design and it’s just a very entertaining and exciting film. I can’t even think of too much to say about it because I enjoyed it so much. (Also I don’t want to give away the plot at all.)

I wonder if Iris’s two friends Blanche and Julia are gay? I mean, one of them was wearing a fantastic pant suit and we assume they’re rooming together. They’re both begging Iris not to go through with the wedding too.. Well, headcanon says yes.

Does it make me love the people? Absolutely. Iris is completely adorable and Gilbert is a kind of charming cad. Sort of Flynn Ryder-ish and somewhat sweet really. I love Miss Froy as well, she’s a brilliant character and she’s someone you genuinely worry about when she’s gone.

Bechdel test: Iris talks to both her girlfriends Blanche and Julie about food, champagne and her wedding plans. Then she speaks at length to Miss Froy about the noise, about Miss Froy’s bag, and tea, and whether or not Iris is all right after being hit in the head. Lots of passes! It happens when the lead character is a woman.

Best line:

Charters: sir, would you happen to know what time the train leaves Bale for England?
Stranger: – speaks in another language –
Charters: oh, really? – tuns to his friend – the fella doesn’t speak English.

Iris: well I may be very dense, but if this is some kind of joke, I don’t see the point.

State of Mind: What an awesome trip that was. I loved it and recommend it to anyone interested in a good mystery or a romp. The characters are brilliant and the fashion is gorgeous. Will definitely be watching it again – maybe to spot more clues and see if I missed anything in particular. Great film, go watch. Hitchcock cameo is very near the end, and he looks weirdly young with dark hair.

Watched movie count

